The Cassidy Law Firm Blog

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Middlesex County DUI: When Can I Get My License Back?

Despite campaigns by both private advocacy groups and public agencies over the last several decades to eradicate drinking and driving, driving under the influence remains one of the most common reasons for an arrest throughout the United States. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, or DUI, in Middlesex County in New Jersey you face a variety of penalties if convicted. For many people, at the top of the list of concerns after a DUI arrest is the driver’s license suspension.

If you are like most people, your driver’s license is what allows you the ability to drive to work, school, or to important appointments such as a doctor’s appointment. Losing your ability to drive often does more than simply take away your independence – it can have a direct impact on your job, school, and health. If you have a family and you are the primary support, losing your driving privileges can have a significant negative impact on your entire family.

In Middlesex County, the amount of time your driving privileges will be suspended for a DUI arrest depends on a number of factors such as:

  • Your previous DUI history – or lack thereof
  • Whether you submitted to, or refused, the chemical test
  • Your BAC level at the time of your arrest

Not surprisingly, if you have a history of Middlesex County DUI convictions you face harsher penalties, including a longer license suspension. Likewise, if your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, level is especially high you also face harsher penalties. For a first time DUI with a BAC level of between 0.08 and 0.10 percent your license may be suspended for three months. If your BAC level was 0.10 percent or higher your license could be suspended for seven months to one year. As a repeat offender you could face a license suspension of two years for a second conviction within ten years or could lose your driving privileges for up to ten years for a third conviction within ten years. If you refuse a chemical test (usually a Breathalyzer) you face the same penalties as you do if actually convicted of DUI in Middlesex County.

Unfortunately, New Jersey does not offer the option to apply for a hardship license. Therefore, if your license has been suspended for conviction of a DUI or for refusal to submit to a chemical test you must wait out the suspension.


Archived Posts

2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
November
October
July
June
May
April
March
February
2012



© 2018 The Cassidy Law Firm | Disclaimer
750 Broad Street, Suite 3, Shrewsbury, NJ 07702
| Phone: (732) 747-3999

Practice Area Overview | Personal Injury | Medical Malpractice | Workers' Compensation | Litigation | Contract & Business Law | Personal Bankruptcy | Mediation | Appellate Law Overview | Business Disputes Litigation | Mediation | Automobile Accidents | Our Attorneys | Significant Cases

Law Firm Website Design by
Amicus Creative


© The Cassidy Law Firm | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Law Firm Website Design by Zola Creative
750 Broad Street, Suite 3, Shrewsbury, NJ 07702 | Phone: 732.747.3999
Attorney Advertising
We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code.