The Cassidy Law Firm Blog

Thursday, September 16, 2021

What Does It Mean to Be Uninsured?

Insurance can be complicated to figure out. Insurance jargon can be as rampant and confusing as legal jargon! It is, however, important to have even a basic understanding of your insurance coverage and the various coverage options that are required and that which are optional. Here, we will discuss what it means to be uninsured, some of the penalties, and some of the potential consequences should you get into a car accident as an uninsured driver or with an uninsured driver.

What Does It Mean to Be Uninsured?

The term “uninsured” usually turns up in the auto insurance context and refers to someone who does not carry it. New Jersey requires that all drivers carry minimum insurance coverage. At the very least, drivers are required to carry the following auto insurance coverage:

  • $15,000/$30,000 for the injury or death of a person
  • $5,000 for property damage

Those who fail to carry the minimum coverage face some steep penalties if caught by law enforcement. First time violators who drive without the requisite liability coverage can incur fines from $300 to $1,000. Additionally, a judge can order community service as well as mandatory license suspension for one to two years. Any subsequent conviction of driving while uninsured can result in a fine of up to $5,000. Furthermore, the guilty party will be required to pay a $750 surcharge to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, paid in $250 increments for 3 years. While no points will be assessed for the first violation, subsequent violations will result in 9 insurance eligibility points. There is also mandatory jail time of 14 days attached to a second offense.

If you are an uninsured driver and you cause an accident that results in injuries, you may be held personally liable for compensating the injury victims. This means that those who sustained injuries could obtain enforceable court orders for you to pay them compensation for the damages they suffered in an accident. Without insurance coverage, your assets will be vulnerable to sale to satisfy this kind of judgment.

If you are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured driver, you may go after the driver personally to recover the compensation you need for the harm you have suffered. They may not, however, have the assets available to satisfy your claim. If you have MedPay under your own insurance policy, however, you can use this to pay for your medical expenses related to the accident. If you also carry Uninsured Motorist coverage on your policy, you can access this coverage to pay for other expenses related to the accident. You can also use any health insurance coverage you have to help cover the expenses of receiving medical treatment for your accident injuries.

New Jersey Personal Injury Attorneys

If you have been injured in an auto accident, the trusted team at the Cassidy Law Firm is here for you. Contact us today.

Archived Posts


© 2024 The Cassidy Law Firm LLC | Disclaimer
750 Broad Street, Suite 3, Shrewsbury, NJ 07702
| Phone: (732) 747-3999

Practice Area Overview | Personal Injury | Medical Malpractice | Workers' Compensation | Litigation | Contract & Business Law | Personal Bankruptcy | Arbitration | Mediation | Appellate Law Overview | Construction Litigation | Business Disputes Litigation | | Our Attorneys | Significant Cases


© The Cassidy Law Firm LLC | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Law Firm Website Design by Zola Creative
750 Broad Street, Suite 3, Shrewsbury, NJ 07702 | Phone: 732.747.3999
Attorney Advertising
We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code.